What Time Is It?

Admit it, you’re shocked when you see the first ‘Back – To – School’ ads on TV backtoschooladin early July or the circular that comes in the newspaper; just like when you see Christmas ads before Halloween!

For me BACK to school suggests that we ended or quit something that now we have decided to begin again. True, we do stop physically going to a building we call ‘school’ but in reality, learning should be a year long activity. Most kids are excited for school to begin again. They wonder, ‘What will be different this year?’, ‘What will my teacher be like?’, ‘Will I struggle or will it be easy?’. Honestly, as a teacher, I wonder the same things!

  • As teachers, we must spend time honing our craft and growing. There are always new approaches and new techniques to read about and study. For me, one question I ask myself is “What could I have done differently this year to reach that one student?” Whether it’s a social emotional or academic issue that affects students, master teachers will strive to find the one thing that will reach them and help them be successful.
  • The second area I focus on is, ‘What can I do that will make me more efficient?’ I try to remember and make a list listof the non-teaching tasks I  spent a lot of time doing during the year. Was it running copies, grading papers, filing papers, searching for reading passages or other ideas on the web or Pinterest?  Once I have a list, I prioritize and spend time brainstorming/working on how to streamline the tasks.

Having some tools or ideas to work with gives me a focus and can make

Back – To – School a less stressful time.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Don Moore

     /  September 7, 2017

    very good/kids like leaders who show them how to plan their time and get the work done.

    Virus-free. http://www.avast.com

    On Fri, Jul 28, 2017 at 12:01 PM, Teacher, teacher! wrote:

    > Shelia Tate posted: “Admit it, you’re shocked when you see the first ‘Back > – To – School’ ads on TV in early July or the circular that comes in the > newspaper; just like when you see Christmas ads before Halloween! For me > BACK to school suggests that we ended or quit somethin” >

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment